I just can’t. Not anymore.

I’ve been giving this burlesque thing a lot of thought over the last few months.  And something’s not jiving, you know?  I don’t know.  With the baby coming this summer, and all of the paternity issues with that, I’ve found my world views shifting.  I come from a very traditional Christian upbringing and that foundation has been weighing hard on me lately. I just don’t think I can keep doing this.  Living like this.  This burlesque life.  It’s just… not right.  So I’ve had to make some tough decisions.

First, the morality — or rather, lack there of — of being a burlesque performer is something I can no longer ignore.  I have A LOT of guilt about it.  I’ve tried to get past it, but when it comes right down to it, I think that the body should be covered, a present to be unwrapped by your husband and your husband alone.  So, I have to walk away from it and focus on rebuilding my life and my soul.

I’m moving back to Alabama.  There’s a man there who I’ve known since I was little.  He’s older (way older) and wiser and a good Christian man.  He’s a good provider and he can take care of me and my unborn child.  That’s the way it should be.  It’s the way I want it to be.  I can’t take care of myself and you know what?  I don’t want to.  It’s not the way that the Bible teaches us that women should be.  We’re here to be sweet, and gentle, and be mothers and wives. Not drinkers and sex-makers, and slutty strippers.

If you would like to say goodbye to me, I’ll be at the this event next month.  I’m moving the next day.  I hope to see you there.

CRWN Tax Freedom Day Reception

Here’s to a new life!!  God bless!!

3 thoughts on “I just can’t. Not anymore.

Leave a Reply

