Burlesco!

I’ve been up to some things.  And one of these things has been producing a live band burlesque show with the super amazing (and very handsome) Mark the Knife along with Matt Gandurski and his band, Grit and the Double Knit.

I’m very excited about it.

After a couple of not so great experiences with producers, I came away with some invaluable knowledge.  Namely, what NOT to do.  I don’t think there is a better learning tool than seeing other people’s mistakes firsthand.  That’s not to say that it’s been all bad.  I’ve had the unbelievable luck to work with some people who understand that the key to a good show is respecting the people who work for you and realizing that entertaining the audience is paramount (I’m looking at you Donna Touch and Plan 9!)  This is my philosophy, anyway.  It’s all well and good to have passion and confidence about what you do, but I truly believe that you’re only as good as the community that surrounds you.  Why bother pushing yourself to be as great as you can be if you isolate yourself from other fantastic performers who could make you better?  The performance suffers and by proxy the audience.  My own level of performance has improved so much since I started opening myself up to the Chicago burlesque community.  I’ve learned from the women I work with and, amazingly, they’ve learned a few things from me, too.  And as a result, I’ve gotten the chance to be at — and now this is going to sound super eye roll-inducing dramatic but bear with me — what I feel is the beginning of a brand new chapter of Chicago burlesque.  There are some very new exciting things happening and I’m stupidly happy and honored to be a part of it.

And now I get to contribute.

Burlesco!  It’s the brain child of three people with very different and complimentary talents who sat over a few beers and said “Hey, this thing should exist.”  And now it does.  I’m thrilled.

This is a live band show featuring the best Chicago burlesquers performing improvised strip-tease.  And I’m thrilled to introduce (not that these guys need introduction) the people who’ll bring it to you:

OUR HOST AND THE WORLD’S MOST DANGEROUS COMIC.

MARK THE KNIFE

IMG_3478

 

OUR BAND

GRIT AND THE DOUBLE KNIT

Matt Gandurski (Guitar and Vocals) Jeffrey Parker (Upright Bass) Tom McGettrick (Banjo) Evan Bivins (Drums/ Percussion)

Matt Gandurski (Guitar and Vocals)
Jeffrey Parker (Upright Bass)
Tom McGettrick (Banjo)
Evan Bivins (Drums/ Percussion)

BURLESQUE BOOKING BY YOURS TRULY

 

IMG_3013

 

AND PROUDLY FEATURING THE BEST IN CHICAGO BURLESQUE!

Millie May, Marie Curieosity, Stella Cheeks, Myself, and Vivi Valens

Millie May, Marie Curieosity, Stella Cheeks, Myself, and Vivi Valens

Burlesco! is every fourth Saturday exclusively at Honky Tonk in Pilsen.  The band starts at 10:30 and there’s never a cover.  Featuring new performers every month.  We can’t wait to see you there!

Leave a Reply

